Anecdote Love

Stories and Musings from a girl named Harvey

100 Word Story Challenge

9 Comments

Leslie driving Tower, familiar.  Rainy window shows gray house in the wheat field.  Not there before.  She veers onto the shoulder.  Under yellow umbrella she approaches.  Charming dilapidation on red door.  She knocks, no reply, enters. Inside white wainscoting, empty picture rail, smell of lavender, worn pine floors, hat stand waiting for her umbrella.  Following lavender she enters a parlor, sees a portrait.  The man wears a red bowler hat, wisps of brown curls, stern jawline, soft smile, black gray eyes, curious.  Leslie determines to meet him.  In sunshine she returns to the wheat field.  Gray house not there.

Written for Friday Fictioneers.  Check it out here: http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/.

9 thoughts on “100 Word Story Challenge

  1. You’re braver than I to try 100 words. Well done.

  2. Dear Ladyharvey,

    Welcome to Friday Fictioneers. It appears that Leslie has had a hallucination. A little confusing. 100 words is a challenge, more so than writing a novel. I look forward to reading more from you.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Thanks so much for the kind words! I love a good challenge as it makes me push my writing outside of my normal comfort limits. I thank I’m now addicted to 100 word stories!

  3. I don’t know why, but I love this. It may have been a little confusing, but my scattered brain understood it completely. Welcome to Friday Fictioneers.

  4. After reading a couple of times, all became clear. I liked the images you were creating and you packed a lot into your 100 words – it’s not an easy task!
    Welcome to Friday Fictioneers
    Dee

Leave a Reply

